The National Union of Students

NUS is the peak representative body for Australian undergraduate university students. We seek to protect and advance the rights and interests of undergraduate students by working with campus-based student organisations, running actions and campaigns, and making sure the voices of students are heard by parliamentarians.

The National Union of Students highest decision making body is NUS National Conference held in December each year. Each affiliated campus elects delegates from the student body at their annual elections to attend and help determine the policy of NUS, as well as elect the National and State Office Bearers for the coming year. 

NUS Constitution

2017 NUS National Office Bearers: 

 

National President Sophie Johnston                                       
president@nus.asn.au
National General Secretary Nathan Croft 
gensec@nus.asn.au
National Education Officer Anneke Demanyele                                               
education@nus.asn.au
National Welfare Officer Jill Molloy 
welfare@nus.asn.au
National Womens Officer Abby Stapleton
womens@nus.asn.au
National Queer Officer Chris Di Pasquale                                             queerofficer@nus.asn.au
National Queer Officer Lauren Saunders queer@nus.asn.au
National Ethno-Cultural Officer Lorena White ethno-cultural@nus.asn.au
National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer    atsi@nus.asn.au
National Disabilities Officer  Taylor Ficarra disabilities@nus.asn.au
National Environment Officer Leesa Markussen enviro@nus.asn.au
National Small and Regional Officer Jason Byrne sr@nus.asn.au
National International Students Officer David Lee international@nus.asn.au 

 

2016 State Presidents: 

 

Australian Capital Territory Nick Douros act.pres@nus.asn.au
New South Wales Michael Murdocca nsw.pres@nus.asn.au
Victoria Alan Padgham  vic.pres@nus.asn.au
South Australia Maddee Knill sa.pres@nus.asn.au
Western Australia Lewis Whittaker wa.pres@nus.asn.au
Tasmania Clark Cooley (Tasmania University Union).                         tas.pres@nus.asn.au

 

 

2016 General Members of NUS National Executive: 

Peter Zacharatos (UTS Student Association)

Sophie Johnston (UNSW SRC)

James Bashford (University of Melbourne Student Union)

Mark Pace (University of Adelaide SRC)

Abby Stapleton (Monash Student Association)

Jarrett Gauci (Deakin University Student Association)

Jordan O'Reilly (Flinders University Student Association)

Abena Dove (RMIT University Student Union)

Georgia Tree (Curtin Student Guild)

Josh Bolitho (ANU Student Association)

Emma Boogaerdt (UWA Student Guild)

Amelia Briggs (University of Adelaide SRC)

 

The NUS National Executive governs NUS and supervises its activities between conferences, it is made up of NUS National Officers (non-voting), State Branch Presidents and General Members. 

 

NUS National Office

Victorian Trades Hall

54 Victoria St

Carlton South, Victoria 3053

 


Phone: (03) 9650 8908

Email: info@nus.asn.au